Big plans for this year’s EC awards

The Eastern Cape Music Awards (Ecmas) makes its return next month and organisers promise that the event will be bigger and better than before.


The third annual Ecmas takes place at Buffalo City Stadium on March 24.

A new feature to the programme this year will be the Woza Mzala Africa Music Festival.

Speaking to the Daily Dispatch yesterday, founder businessman Koko Godlo said this year’s awards would be better than previous years.

“A lot of people complained about leaving at midnight – they still wanted to party. The music festival will ensure that people stay longer for the music and entertainment,” he said.

“The festival will give a lot of people a platform to share their talent with the whole of the Eastern Cape. I’ve done my research and the awards can be hosted in a stadium. We just need to make sure that the setup is perfect.”

He said the hosts for the evening would be Isidingo’s Soso Rungqu and Umhlobo Wenene FM’s Amaza Ntshanga.

He said the music festival would become a permanent feature of the Ecmas.

With a total of 12 categories, Godlo said the awards were a true reflection of the province’s music talent.

“So far more than 25000 votes have come in and we are expecting more. The people are responding positively to these awards and we are all excited,” he said.

The categories include artists of the year, song of the year, best male, best female, best traditional artist/ group, best hip hop, best gospel artist/ group, best kwaito, best afro pop, best community radio DJ, best community radio programme and best newcomer.

Previous winners of the Ecmas are artists like Nathi Mankayi, Vusi Nova, Bethusile Mcinga, Butho & Yolanda Vuthela, Mobi Dixon and Berita.

“These are our Eastern Cape products who have won Samas and Metros after winning at the Ecmas. We were the first ones to honour Mobi Dixon and we are proud that we could celebrate our artists first before the national guys do so,” he said.

Some of the nominees in the artist of the year category this year include Anele Ncanda, Great Stone, 2LZG, Jelarico, Adjar, Alutha, I-Dentist, Lizo Ndobe, Sundees Musiq, Jolisa, Amawele ka Mamtshawe, Mahlanyana, Phelo Bala and Andile Lento.

For a full list of the nominees, go to and vote for your favourite.

General tickets for the event cost R170 and are available from Computicket.

By Poliswa Plaatjie – DispatchLIVE

Leave a Reply